The Martin Ennals Award
for Human Rights Defenders

Martin Ennals

Since 1993, The Martin Ennals Award for Human Rights Defenders (MEA) has been given each year to an individual who has "demonstrated an exceptional record of combating human rights violations by courageous and innovative means." The award is intended to bring international attention to the activities of human rights defenders whose lives are endangered because of their work, so that they will receive protection with the eyes of the world focused on the perpetrators of the human rights violations. The prize also includes a monetary award to help the human rights defender continue their important work. The winner is chosen by a jury of eleven of the world's leading human rights organizations. Some of the MEA winners are featured here; for the complete list:

(BetterWorld Heroes is not associated with the Martin Ennals Award - BetterWorld Hero portraits are provided for illustration purposes only - no endorsement is implied)

Harry Wu

© The EMILY Fund. May be distributed for non-commercial uses only.
BetterWorld Heroes are included for illustration purposes. No endorsement implied.


A | B| C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P| Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z
Complete List
- Now 1000 Heroes!
By Category



Kids | Youth | Adults | Calendar | Quotes | Heroes | Stories | The EMILY Fund | Scholarships
DO ONE THING and BetterWorld Kids Clubs are projects of The EMILY Fund (The Emily Silverstein Fund, Inc.)
Hero portraits are included for illustration purposes only - no celebrity endorsement implied

The Emily Fund
Education, Mentorship, Inspiration, Leadership, Youth
- for a Better

PO Box 430
Roosevelt, NJ 08555-0430