Xanana Gusmão
(José Alexandre Gusmão)

1st President of East Timor
4th Prime Minister of East Timor
1999 Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought
2000 Sydney Peace Prize Winner
2002 Félix Houphouët-Boigny Peace Prize

birthdate: June 20
Manatuto, Portuguese Timor

Kids | Youth | Adults | Calendar | Quotes | Heroes | Stories | The EMILY Fund | Scholarships
DO ONE THING and BetterWorld Kids Clubs are projects of The EMILY Fund (The Emily Silverstein Fund, Inc.)
Hero portraits are included for illustration purposes only - no celebrity endorsement implied

The Emily Fund
Education, Mentorship, Inspiration, Leadership, Youth
- for a Better

PO Box 430
Roosevelt, NJ 08555-0430